Pensioner feared being buried alive after eight foot sinkhole traps car

02/27/2014 22:19

Sinkhole_pothole-461935

Jean Lugton, 73, was horrified after her Corsa got stuck in the two foot wide chasm which appeared as she waited at a set of traffic lights.

The elderly woman was rescued by a group of passing students who managed to lift the car out of the sinkhole and police cordoned off the street.

The dramatic incident happened around 7.45pm yesterday in Edinburgh, Scotland as Ms Lugton was driving to meet friends.

Ms Lugton explained she was at a set of traffic lights when her car was almost swallowed by the sinkhole.

She said: “I thought I had hit a pothole, I tried to rev my engine to get out but it didn’t work.

“When I got out of my car I saw that my wheel up to about half way was stuck in the hole.” TRUNews


 


Share |
Google+